Theoretical Physics

Search site

Physics & Astronomy

2016: The Year of Topology in Condensed Matter Physics

19 October 2016

Read about Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 and how it relates to our research.

This year two of the most important physics prizes have been awarded to pioneers of topology in condensed matter physics. The 2016 Nobel Prize for Physics was divided between David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz for “Theoretical Discoveries of Topological Phase Transitions and Topological Phases of Matter”, while the Oliver Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize went to Alexei Kitaev and Xiao-Gang Wen for “Theories of Topological Order and its Consequences in a Broad Range of Physical Systems”

Read more